Follow my blog with Bloglovin
 
blue girl presents: peanut butter chocolate extravaganza (peanut butter layer cake with chocolate frosting)
In my Party in a Box post, I mentioned that my Sister-in-Law of Love Deliveries is super talented.  In addition to the ones that I already mentioned, one of her talents is making beautiful cakes.  Becky is always making these fabulous cakes for her kids' birthdays and for various showers and events.  In the past, she has also sold elaborately decorated cupcakes.

When planning Becky's birthday meal, my Mother-in-Law put me in charge of dessert.  I don't quite have the type of patience and finesse required to decorate a cake (though, I'm working on it!), but I knew I wanted to do the best I could to create an amazing cake for the girl who is always baking for others.  (We just got a cranberry nut banana bread this week that was yummy yum!)

We are a family that LOVES peanut butter and chocolate.  LOVES.  But Becky takes that love to a different level.  So the flavor combo was a no brainer.  I just had to find the perfect recipe.

I recently discovered Sally's Baking Addiction, and immediately knew that was where I would find my inspiration.  Spend any amount of time on that blog, and you will quickly learn that Sally LOVES peanut butter.  LOVES.  I hit the jackpot when I found the recipe for Peanut Butter Cupcakes with Dark Chocolate Frosting.  Hooray!

Now, I really love baking cupcakes.  In fact, I'm in that group of people that enjoys the idea of turning anything edible into a form of cupcake.  However, for whatever reason, I had my heart set on baking a Birthday CAKE.  So that's what I did.

Sally says that you can "pour the batter into a 8-inch or 9-inch square or round baking pan and bake for about 35 minutes."  I made two batches for a layer cake, and only had to bake each round for 25-27 minutes.  I whipped up 2 cups of heavy cream with a box of instant chocolate pudding to make a simple filling.  Then I frosted the whole cake with Sally's Dark Chocolate Frosting

You are all lovely.  You are.  But unfortunately, I don't yet love you enough to pause before dessert to take a photo.  Instead, I waited a day and a half when we just had a little chunk of cake left and took a photo of THAT for you.  Awful, I know.  Forgive me?

blue girl presents: peanut butter layer cake with chocolate frosting
This cake is rich.  It absolutely begs for a mug of coffee or a tall glass of milk.  But it is good.  It tastes like a peanut butter cup in cake form.  Covering the top with mini Reese's Peanut Butter Cups definitely doesn't hurt.  Hooray for birthdays and an excuse to eat cake!
blue girl presents: peanut butter layer cake with chocolate frosting
Pin It
7/30/2013 09:52:30 pm

Oh. My. God.

This might be the prettiest thing I've seen since my summers in snow-capped mountain Colorado. Holy MOLY! Is there any chance that you're a goddess of all things crafty and edible? Because I'm pretty sure you are.

Reply
8/1/2013 12:12:16 am

Well if that wasn't a compliment, I don't know what is! You sure know how to boost a girl's self esteem. :)

Reply
becky
7/31/2013 10:29:31 am

It was amazing!!! Thanks Karen!

Reply
8/1/2013 12:12:56 am

It was a privilege, my dear. Love you!

Reply
7/31/2013 05:05:01 pm

Oh my word - this cake looks incredible! All that chocolate and peanut butter just makes me swoon! I'd be thrilled if you'd come on over to Pink Recipe Box and link up at Creative Wednesdays: http://pinkrecipebox.com/creative-wednesdays-with-pink-recipe-box-3/

Reply
8/1/2013 12:14:14 am

Thank you so much,Nicky! I really appreciate your visit, and you telling me about your lovely blog and link party. Hooray!

Reply
7/31/2013 08:25:02 pm

Thank you so much for sharing this and introducing me to Sally's blog. I LOVE peanut butter and chocolate - so underrated here in the UK!

Reply
8/1/2013 12:15:33 am

You're welcome, Laura. Peanut Butter and chocolate is wonderful, isn't it? Thank you so much for visiting my blog. I will be checking yours out as well!

Reply
NoNo
8/4/2013 02:19:29 pm

oh my i will HAVE to make this for Albert one day! :)

Reply
8/8/2013 12:35:56 am

YES YOU DO!!!! Does Albert like chocolate and peanut butter? Let me know if you make the cake. I will be coming over. ;)

Reply



Leave a Reply.