Follow my blog with Bloglovin
 
Hello my darlings!  I have missed you.   Real life always takes a priority, and we have been doing a lot of living lately.  Now it is already the last week of October.  How did that even happen?  As I work on final details for my Halloween costume this year, I thought it would be fun to look back on my costumes from previous years.

It has actually been a few years since I have been to an actual costume party.  However, I tend to invent excuses to dress up on regular days, so obviously, I must embrace the opportunity to dress up on Halloween!

A dear friend recently reminded me that we grew up in the days of plastic costumes.  Remember those?  Basically a plastic pinafore with an image on it.  Every costume included a plastic mask whether it was necessary or not.

These days, I tend to root through my closets and see what I can put together to create a costume.  I am spoiled with tons of second hand clothes (not to mention a ton of my own clothes!), so it is fun to see what I can create without going to the store.

I have rambled enough.  Here we go!


blue girl presents: mime costume
This Mime costume was super last minute.  This was the year that I learned that cheap costume make-up is harder to apply than it looks.  That was the only thing I purchased that year.


blue girl presents: go-go girl costume
This dress was my Mom's when she was young.  My 3rd Aunt designed it!  I am totally in love with the dress.  I need to find more excuses to wear it.


blue girl presents: mad hatter costume
This was one of my favorite costumes!  I won the plain back hat as a prize at a party.  For Halloween, I decorated it Mad Hatter style.  The jacket and vest used to be my Mom's.  The pants used to be my Dad's.  The bow tie was made out of felt.  I used safety pins to add lace to the jacket.  A few more details found while rummaging through my closets and my costume was complete!


blue girl presents: real housecats of northern new jersey costume
I found a Pinterest photo of a girl with braided cat ears and knew I had to try it.  It was actually quite simple with just a bit of floral wire and bobby pins.  As an ode to my new home state of New Jersey and a silly conversation I had with a friend, this costume was born.  The vest was a wedding gift.  The necklace is one that I made years ago.


blue girl presents: wicked witch of the east costume
Another favorite!  I reinvented the plain back hat I had used for my Mad Hatter costume.  A house, a tornado, a yellow brick road, and I became the Wicked Witch of the East.  Apparently, I didn't look wicked enough.  I was having too much fun!  I took a fun long skirt I had and pinned it randomly to make it more witchy. 

Did you dress up for Halloween this year?  What has been a favorite costume of yours?  I love that Facebook gives me the opportunity to see so many great costumes throughout the month of October.  Have a safe and fun week!
Pin It



Leave a Reply.