Follow my blog with Bloglovin
 
blue girl presents: exploding box card
I'm learning how to quilt.

Kind of.

It's something that I have always wanted to do.

When I found out that my Sister-in-Law quilts, and my Mother-in-Law quilts, and that they are both connected to a whole network of quilters, I was really excited.

For the past three years, I have been attending an annual quilt day at my church and a quilt retreat that is held close to the middle of nowhere.  In that three years, I have finished hand-piecing the front of a wall hanging, and machine sewing the top of a table runner.  My Mother always picks on me for hanging out with quilters all the time but having no finished projects.

The thing is, quilters are REALLY nice people.  They love having show and tell sessions, and are always so supportive and encouraging.  My first quilt day, all I had to share was a little nine-patch square, and the quilters cheered for me as though I had finished a king size quilt.  Every six months, the quilters gather again, see my additional couple squares and cheer as though I finished another king size quilt.  It's really quite lovely.  You can only imagine what it's like when someone really does share a king size quilt! 

Tom and Madge are two of our quilt mentors that attend the quilt day and the quilt retreat.  They are the cutest couple.  They are kind, hilarious, encouraging, generous, and God-centered.  Madge always has fun activities planned that include prizes.  Lots of prizes.  Madge also likes to plant encouraging little notes by everyone's seat when they aren't paying attention.  During our gatherings, Tom will service anyone's sewing machine.  For free.  He is skilled with all types of machine problems and user defects.  If you're interested in quilting, and you don't have a machine, Tom and Madge will make sure you get one.  It will either be free or an insanely amazing price depending on the machine and the circumstance.  They are always full of energy and filled with ideas. 
blue girl presents: exploding box card
This week, Tom turned 70. 
blue girl presents: exploding box card
Madge threw him a big open house style party.
blue girl presents: exploding box card
Tom has many other interests, so it was a "Trains, Planes, & Automobiles" themed party.

The cake was tasty!
blue girl presents: tom's birthday cake
There were several cute stations around the yard with fun things to see or do.
I thought this mini car show was so adorable.
blue girl presents: madge and tom's mini car show
blue girl presents: madge and tom'smini car show
Here is Tom's train set.  They had wooden house forms available for kids of all ages to decorate and add to the scene.  Tom made the bridge out of a bed frame!
blue girl presents: tom's train
Here is a photo of one of Madge's quilts.  Isn't it darling?  I just kept staring at it and getting excited about all the fun little details.
blue girl presents: madge's library quilt
It was a privilege to be able to celebrate such a special day with such a fun couple!

p.s. the bunny from the card was cut with my Cricut, using the "Give a Hoot" cartridge.
Pin It
7/24/2013 09:43:52 am

This is absolutely adorable!! Love the car cake and mini car show. MUCH more affordable than an ACTUAL car show. :)

You have to keep me posted on your quilting exploits. I am pathetically intimidated by all things sewing. Maybe you can inspire me to cast away all of my fears in the fabric department. :)

Reply
7/25/2013 05:00:25 am

Hahaha. I will TRY to keep you posted on my quilting exploits. Although I am still really intimidated by most things sewing. :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.